I’ve been stuck in a book rut lately. The same type of books, subjects and authors just keep coming home with me from the library. I like my book rut but maybe it is time to expand some of my reading topics, break out of that comfort zone I’ve nestled in the past few years. I chose Book Riot’s Read Harder challenge as inspiration to find new to me authors and topics. I chose this reading challenge because they only have twenty-four tasks. Since I spend about two hours reading aloud on school days with my kiddos I do not need a huge fifty book list like some of the challenges I found online. This list looked very doable to me and I can knock out two tasks just from our read aloud pile (tasks 7 and 21) already. I do not have a budget for this so all of the books must come from my own shelves or the local library.

Some of these categories are going to be difficult for me to read and possibly enjoy. If you have any suggestions then please share. A couple of the tasks includes the acronym LGBTQ+. Well, that will be interesting. I know what some of the letters stand for but I have no idea about the Q or the “plus”. Who knew there were so many orientations… Anyway, I hate bodice rippers no matter the orientation of the individuals in the book so I will have to find a creative work around for the romance novel.

1. Read a book about sports.

2. Read a debut novel.

3. Read a book about books.

4. Read a book set in Central or South America, written by a Central or South American author.

5. Read a book by an immigrant or with a central immigration narrative.

6. Read an all-ages comic.

7. Read a book published between 1900 and 1950.

Poor Richard by James Daugherty was originally published in 1941. I am currently reading this title to my oldest for history. I consider the book to be a nice introduction to Benjamin Franklin.

8. Read a travel memoir.

9. Read a book you’ve read before.

10. Read a book that is set within 100 miles of your location.

11. Read a book that is set more than 5000 miles from your location.

According to Google, Rio de Janerio is 5002 miles from my home.

12. Read a fantasy novel.

13. Read a nonfiction book about technology.

14. Read a book about war.

Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History by S.C. Gwynne. Wow! That title is a mouth full. I have this book on my shelf and it will be my first book to read for the challenge.

15. Read a YA or middle grade novel by an author who identifies as LGBTQ+.

16. Read a book that has been banned or frequently challenged in your country.

17. Read a classic by an author of color.

18. Read a superhero comic with a female lead.

19. Read a book in which a character of color goes on a spiritual journey.

20. Read a LGBTQ+ romance novel.

21. Read a book published by a micropress.

Poor Richard by James Daugherty see #7 for notes. Published by Beautiful Feet Books. I thought they met the definition of a small press.

23. Read a collection of poetry in translation on a theme other than love.

24. Read a book wherein all point-of-view characters are people of color.

I plan to just update this page as I read the books instead of writing separate posts. Most likely I will comment on the books in the weeklies.

 

 

